Shaolin 5 Animal Kung Fu

Shaolin 5 Animal Kung Fu

Shaolin 5 Animal Kung Fu is the original lineage where all martial arts came from. Karate Tae Kwon Do, Krav Maga, Aikido, Kenpo (Kempo), Jujitsu, Wing Chun and many more style all trace back to the Shaolin 5 animal. So why not learn them all. Each animal is a different style and works for different body types and abilities.


Tiger – Tenacity, power it never retreats and uses its size to overwhelm. Its philosophy is” I might take some damage but I will deal more.”

Examples: Karate, Krav Maga, Thai Kickboxing


Leopard– sheer speed and footwork. It makes up for in speed what it lacks in size. Its philosophy is” if I cannot drop you in one strike I will use a hundred.”

Examples: Wing Chung, Boxing

Snake– uses pressure points and attacks soft vulnerable areas such as eyes, throat, grown. Also uses a wide variety of throws joint locks. Its philosophy is “if I can get a hold of any part of your body you are going on a ride”.

Examples: Judo, Jujitsu

Crane-balance and agility. It uses big sweeping strikes to chop down it’s pray and never stays in front of an opponent for too long. Its philosophy is “I will look like I am retreating when I am really just getting space for big and powerful attacks.”

Examples: Tae Kwon Do, Kickboxing

Dragon– Spirit and Wisdom. It is the highest level of martial arts drawing on all styles well known for its rising and dropping moves and hidden attacks. Its philosophy is “if you can’t see it you can’t block it”

Examples: Everything